Never Give Up – Tina Henderson, Executive Consultant with Ambit Energy

I have a special treat for you readers this week! Our guest blogger is a great and precious friend of mine; Tina Henderson offers a smart and honest insight on the importance of never giving up. Something we all struggle with when we encounter obstacles and challenges. This article is truly encouraging and I am so glad Tina has shared it with us!

Esther Spina

One thing I have learned in this business is that a person who refuses to give up will be successful.  We all experience disappointment in life and endure many things that try to convey the message we are not going to make it or we won’t get what we had hoped for.  We cannot always control all of our circumstances, but we can control the attitudes of our hearts and eventually see our dreams come true.  Your attitude must be:  I will never give up! The late Zig Ziglar said it best when he wrote, “When obstacles arise you change your direction to reach your goal, you do not change your decision to get there.”

This business has a lot of ebbs and flows and many times I struggled, comparing myself to others and feeling like a failure and that I would never reach my goals.  I had to reset my goals several times but I kept going.  I did not want to settle for something mediocre and unfulfilling.  You just have to keep pressing on to the next level and be determined to never give up.  I’m still not where I want to be but I know in my heart of hearts that if I keep working at this I will see my dreams and goals come true.

This business does not take a college degree – just ordinary talents and extraordinary perseverance.  Esther always told me that “Successful people do what unsuccessful people will not do”.  She is a key example to all of us.

Consider the stone cutter hammering away at his rock, perhaps a hundred times without as much as a crack showing in it.  Yet at the hundred and first blow it will split in two, and it was not the last blow that did it but all that had gone before.  Same as your business: show the plan, show the plan, show the plan.  You are just one person away from your rock star. To quote Thomas Edison “Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”  And he, if anyone, knows how true this is.

I also found that talking to other successful people and learning from them was very helpful.  But the one key ingredient that always came up was to keep going. Stay away from the negative people and people who belittle your ambitions.  Small people always do that, but the really great people make you feel that you too can become great.

To me, determination and a refusal to give up are the key ingredients to success in any area of life.  Anyone now enjoying fulfillment and contentment has already made the decision, to not give up.

As long as you believe you can, you can.

Tina Henderson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

